Sliding Void
currently free from...

Kindle USA
Kindle UK
Kobo
OnceWasPaper
Smashwords

In the Company of Ghosts
currently free from...

Kindle USA
Kindle UK
Kobo
OnceWasPaper
Smashwords

Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - Janet Rider

Pages: [1] 2
1
Press Releases / Blake's 7 returns ... to Xbox!
« on: August 15, 2013, 08:53:12 AM »
A Microsoft-funded reprise of the 1978-1981 series is headed to the Xbox Live service, according to The Financial Times (paywall), replacing earlier plans to revive the show on the SyFy channel. SyFy's choice of director, Martin Campbell, will still helm the new production.

http://boingboing.net/2013/08/15/blakes-7-is-back-on-xbox-li.html

2
It's clear that Fox is mistaking these files for episodes of the TV show "Homeland." What's not clear is why or how anyone sending a censorship request could be so sloppy, careless and indifferent to the rights of others that they could get it so utterly wrong.

http://craphound.com/?p=4727

3
I heard rumours that the 3rd one is coming soon. Fingers crossed that's true. I really love this science fiction series and wish he could write them faster.

4
News / Sci-Fi & Fantasy’s greatest Pets!
« on: January 20, 2013, 07:53:21 AM »
To mark a much overlooked contribution from a bovine superstar to a show that’s ending this weekend – Fringe, here are 20 of sci-fi and fantasy’s greatest pets and animal sidekicks.

http://www.sfx.co.uk/2013/01/18/blastermind-sci-fi-fantasys-greatest-pets/

5
News / Video: How The Hobbit Should Have Ended!
« on: January 20, 2013, 03:37:20 AM »

6
Press Releases / Why Santa must die?
« on: December 22, 2012, 05:27:09 AM »
The Alien that Ate Christmas, an illustrated seasonal short story showcasing Santa, slay-bells and some shocking sci-fi screams, is free globally on Kindle (until Boxing Day, December 26th 2012).

THE AUTHOR.

Stephen Hunt is the creator of the much-loved 'Jackelian' adventure series, now on its 6th book, published across the world via HarperCollins alongside their other best-selling fantasy authors, George R.R. Martin, J.R.R. Tolkien, Raymond E. Feist and C.S. Lewis.

THE ARTIST

This is the illustrated edition, featuring five beautiful interior colour illustrations by one of Italy's leading artists, Stefano Trainito.

THE BOOK

There are many things you don’t expect to see when you wake up in your bedroom on the evening of Christmas Eve. Santa Claus tied up in a chair and being threatened by an alien was right at the top of young Timmy's list. Sadly for our orphan hero, the alien has plans to save the Earth by giving the planet just what it wants. And that's when the trouble REALLY starts...

GET IT FREE FROM…

UK
www.amazon.co.uk/Christmas-illustrated-showcasing-slay-bells-ebook/dp/B00A6EH8PK/

USA
www.amazon.com/Christmas-illustrated-showcasing-slay-bells-ebook/dp/B00A6EH8PK/

CANADA
www.amazon.ca/Christmas-illustrated-showcasing-slay-bells-ebook/dp/B00A6EH8PK/

And all other Amazon domains too.

7
News / Walking Dead shambles to 4th series - but Glen Mazzar is dead meat.
« on: December 21, 2012, 02:08:25 PM »
AMC has renewed The Walking Dead for a fourth season -- without showrunner Glen Mazzara, who has parted ways with cable's top series.

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/live-feed/walking-dead-renewed-fourth-season-glen-mazzara-381614

8
You've got to love...

"Of Greg Bear’s Hull Zero Three (Gollancz) there is little to say, except that it is capable in its own way, and hard in the way that some people want SF to be hard, and it keeps alive the great tradition of the SF of the 1940s and 1950s where people get in spaceships to go somewhere to do something. In this case, the unlikely story begins as the interstellar spaceship arrives somewhere. The paragraphs are short, to suit the expected attention-span of the reader. The important words are in italics. Have we lived and fought in vain?"

Tell it how you feel it, CP!

 :'( :'( :'(

9
Loving this series, Steve, please keep writing more books set in this universe. Cant wait to find out what happens after the second novella. Get writing!!!!

10
Sliding Void / Re: Loving the Sliding Void books bigtime.
« on: December 03, 2011, 08:40:59 AM »
Excellent news, thank you for the update. I shall keep my eyes peeled for book 3 on Amazon.

You sure love those cliffhangers!

Jan

11
Sliding Void / Loving the Sliding Void books bigtime.
« on: December 03, 2011, 04:21:00 AM »
I absolutely love your Sliding Void series of science fiction novels; can't get through them fast enough.  I'm currently reading Transference Station, the second, I think in the series. One of the best scifi novels I've read for a long time - really engaging characters and situations. The books put me in mind of Iain M Banks if he were writing episodes of Firefly.

I could ask you where you get your amazing ideas from, but I've been told this is a crass thing to ask an author (you must hear it all the time).

Instead, I'd ask how many novels are you planning in the series?

Jan

PS - how many countries are the books available in? Any foreign translations?

12
Press Releases / A Legion Divided
« on: June 17, 2011, 11:40:19 AM »
Following the announcements of new first issues starring many DC’s legendary characters, we are releasing news of first issues for several of DC’s teenage heroes and young superteams.

Seven heroes from the 31st century have traveled back to the present day. Their mission: Save their future from total annihilation. When the future tech they brought with them fails, they find themselves trapped in a nightmarish world and an ultimate struggle to survive. LEGION LOST #1 will be written by Fabian Nicieza and illustrated by Pete Woods, fresh off an acclaimed run of Action Comics.

In the 31st century, the Legion of Superheroes is reeling from the loss of seven of their finest -- and trying desperately to keep their youngest recruits alive against a series of terrible new threats. LEGION OF SUPERHEROES #1 will be written by fan-favorite Legion writer Paul Levitz and illustrated by Francis Portela.

The Next Generation of Justice

Tim Drake is forced to step out from behind his keyboard when an international organization seeks to capture or kill super-powered teenagers. As Red Robin, he must team up with the mysterious and belligerent powerhouse thief known as Wonder Girl and a hyperactive speedster calling himself Kid Flash in TEEN TITANS #1, by Scott Lobdell and artists Brett Booth and Norm Rapmund.

Virgil Hawkins has been gifted with incredible electrical powers. Adopting the persona of Static, he faces super-powered street gangs, raging hormones, homework, and girls in STATIC SHOCK #1, co-written by John Rozum and Scott McDaniel, with McDaniel also illustrating.

It’s up to the living avatars of war and peace to root out the hidden forces who look to plunge the country into a deadly civil war in HAWK AND DOVE #1. The exciting new series will be written by Sterling Gates and illustrated by legendary superstar comics artist Rob Liefeld.

13
Renovation, the 69th World Science Fiction
Convention, has set the attending membership rates that will apply
from July 18 onwards for both online and at-the-door sales, and
determined its Day Admission rates.

The following attending membership rate changes for Renovation will go
into effect on July 18, 2011:

- The Adult Attending membership rate will increase from $195 to $220
- Converting a Supporting membership to an Attending membership will be $170
- Friend of the Reno Bid conversion from Supporting to Attending will be $130
- Young Adult Membership (17-21 years old on August 17, 2011) will
increase from $100 to $120
- The Family Rate (2 adults plus 2 or more dependent children) will
increase from $480 to $500.

The Attending membership rate for Children (0-16 years old on August
17, 2011) will remain unchanged at $75.

Day Admissions can be purchased online via the Renovation website from
June 20, 2011, or in person at the door. Day Admissions are priced
according to the day being purchased and the age of the purchaser.
(Quoted figures are for Wednesday 17 / Thursday 18 / Friday 19 /
Saturday 20 / Sunday 21 August respectively).
       
Adult                        $40 / $50 / $70 / $70 / $30
Reno College     $30 / $40 / $60 / $60 / $20
Young Adult      $20 / $30 / $40 / $40 / $20
Child                 $15 / $20 / $25 / $25 / $15

Renovation memberships are available for immediate purchase at various
conventions, at www.renovationsf.org and by postal mail. Full
information on all registration and payment options is available at
www.renovationsf.org/register.php.

14
Press Releases / Orbit snaps up werewolf urban fantasy trilogy
« on: June 17, 2011, 11:35:51 AM »
Little, Brown Book Group’s Orbit imprint has acquired the debut urban fantasy novel Full Blooded along with a further 2 books in the series by American author Amanda Carlson. Commissioning editor Anna Gregson bought UK and Commonwealth rights from Tracy Williams at Hachette Book Group USA.

Set in a world where all werewolves are male, the story follows Jessica – a girl who’s just become the only female werewolf in the world. And now she’s on the run, because a prophecy claims that her birth will signal the end of the werewolf race.

Gregson says: “I’m thrilled to be publishing this exceptionally fast-paced and irresistibly sexy urban fantasy trilogy that is just perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong and Charlaine Harris. This debut stood out to us because it sizzles with energy, has a heart-thumping pace - and readers will want to consume it all in one sitting. So bearing that in mind that fans will be eager for the rest of the series, we’ll be keeping the schedule tight and will be publishing 3 books within a year”

Orbit UK and Orbit US will publish the series on both sides of the Atlantic, with the first book Full Blooded scheduled for release in all territories in September 2012.

15
Press Releases / Orbit acquires IRON DRUID trilogy by Kevin Hearne
« on: June 17, 2011, 11:35:08 AM »
Little Brown’s SF and Fantasy imprint Orbit has acquired an imaginative, witty and action-packed new urban fantasy trilogy which is currently getting a huge buzz in the US. Orbit UK Editorial Director Anne Clarke has acquired UK and Commonwealth rights in the first three books in Kevin Hearne’s Iron Druid series from Evan Goldfield at Jill Grinberg Literary Management.

The trilogy set in Tempe, Arizona, introduces us to Atticus O’Sullivan. He’s a rare book salesman, herb peddler, and 2,000 year old druid – the last of his kind – who has been on the run for over two millennia from a very angry ancient Celtic god. The books are set in the modern day world, where gods, myths, and magic are very much alive.  The first book HOUNDED primarily features the many Celtic gods; HEXED will focus on Coyote and the Bacchants; HAMMERED will be about a plot against Thor. (Everybody hates Thor.)

Kevin Hearne says: ‘I’m thrilled to be with Orbit UK and hope people will enjoy this blend of history and legend dropped into the modern world. The rich mythology of the Irish is endlessly fascinating to me, and an allusion to British lore in Hounded will eventually become important later in the series as Atticus finds himself in trouble near Windsor Castle.’

Anne Clarke says: ‘I first read the manuscript for HOUNDED in 2009 but it was before I moved to Orbit, and although I loved the story, I couldn’t see a way to make it work on my list back then (I was mainly publishing crime thrillers). When I heard the Iron Druid series was still looking for a UK home I couldn’t believe my luck, and I’m delighted to be bringing Atticus to the UK after all. And since we’re publishing these books this September, October and November, I don’t have long to wait to share them with everyone else here too. You’re in for a treat!’

Pages: [1] 2