Sliding Void
currently free from...

Kindle USA
Kindle UK
Kobo
OnceWasPaper
Smashwords

In the Company of Ghosts
currently free from...

Kindle USA
Kindle UK
Kobo
OnceWasPaper
Smashwords

Author Topic: System Shock premieres on GOG.com september 2015  (Read 1876 times)

Geoff the head Uncle

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 951
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
System Shock premieres on GOG.com september 2015
« on: September 22, 2015, 12:17:18 PM »

System Shock premieres on GOG.com | Introducing the Enhanced Edition by Night Dive Studios
 


Including official mouselook and widescreen support.

Warsaw, September 22 - System Shock, the breakthrough FPS/RPG hybrid - one of the most influential video games ever produced - is back and enhanced, as Night Dive Studios unleashes yet another long-lost piece of gaming history on GOG.com.

Watch the launch trailer for System Shock: Enhanced Edition here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QhRp4HT40PE&feature=youtu.be

On release, System Shock forever changed the face of action gaming - it ushered an era of storytelling, choices, and RPG elements - directly influencing all-time classics like Deus Ex and Bioshock. Today, the legend returns in better shape than ever.

"With System Shock: Enhanced Edition, we're implementing game-changing improvements, including mouselook, widescreen, and a high resolution display mode," says Stephen Kick, CEO of Night Dive Studios. "The classic game has never been more accessible to a modern audience."

The re-release supports resolutions up to 1024x768 (compared to the original 640x480), and a native 854x480 widescreen mode. Gameplay was also streamlined with a toggleable mouselook mode, including more intuitive inventory and item management. Combined with assorted bug-fixes and remappable controls, System Shock is now truly enhanced.

Some gaming experiences are truly worth preserving. Gamers can also return to the authentic 90's gameplay with System Shock: Classic - ready for modern systems, completely unaltered in all other aspects. Both releases are available in a single package, with a 40% discount for all System Shock 2 owners on GOG.com - and 20% off for everyone. The discounted offer will last until Tuesday, September 29, 6:59 AM GMT.

Finally, please join Stephen Kick (Founder and CEO of Night Dive Studios) and Paul
 Neurath (Creative Director at Looking Glass Studios, and industry veteran credited on System Shock 2, Thief, Neverwinter Nights and more) for an in-depth, roundtable discussion on the System Shock phenomenon and its many influences in game design to date - on Twitch.tv/GOGcom - September 23, 6:00 PM CET, 4:00 PM GMT, 9:00 AM PDT, 12:00 PM EDT.
 

SFcrowsnest.net: The genre media magazine

System Shock premieres on GOG.com september 2015
« on: September 22, 2015, 12:17:18 PM »